Apples!

tt_apples1

Apple picking is by far one of my favorite parts of fall. I’ve already made two trips to my favorite apple picking spot, Granville Orchard, and am planning on another before the frost comes. This place is stunning with it’s rows of stocky trees set next to pond. It’s hard to believe that you are just 20 minutes from the city. The apples may look dull and blemished but after a nice “jean shining” and a taste it’s hard going back to those waxy grocery store ones. Some people might be able to pick exactly what they need but not me. I just keep grabbing for apples until it is physically impossible to shove any more into the bag.

tt_apples2

tt_apples3
(the block print scarf is currently on sale in the store! We also have these sturdy BAGGU reusable bags online and in the store)

Once home my husband stares me down as I dump more apples on the counter. “What could you possibly do with all those apples?!” Well let me tell you… apple butter, apple sauce, frozen apple chunks for winter pastries, apple pie, and this fantastic apple crisp. I prefer apple crisp in ramekins. It does away with the problem of the apple goodness getting separated from the sweet crisp.

tt_apples5

tt_apples6

tt_apples7

tt_apples8

Ingredients
4 large tart apples
1 tablespoon cornstarch
1 cup packed brown sugar
3/4 cup whole wheat flour (all purpose works too but wheat is better)
3/4 cup old-fashioned oats
2/3 cup butter
3/4 tsp cinnamon

Directions
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Peal, core, and dice apples. Toss the apples in 1 tablespoon cornstarch and set aside.
2. Mix together remaining dry ingredients in a medium bowl. Melt butter and slowly stir into dry mixture until completely incorporated.
3. Evenly distribute apples amongst 8 6oz ramekins and top with the crumple. Bake for 30-40 minutes. Top with ice cream.

