Layered Cowhide Rugs

I love moving furniture and accessories around the house.  It makes everything feel fresh and new and costs nothing!  I decided today to try moving all of the rugs in the house into different rooms and I had what I think is a really great idea that people aren’t doing much (if at all): LAYER YOUR COWHIDE RUGS!

photo 1 (11)

I happened to have two in the house already, but if you are doing some rug shopping I think that springing for two is a really great alternative to buying an 8 x 10′ rug.  At $298 each, a pair of these rugs will cost you less than most large rugs of other materials.  This is more versatile (for those days when you want to change everything up) and more durable than anything else I have ever had on my floors.

People ask me all the time about the durability of a cowhide.  For some reason, it seems to be a common misconception that these are delicate and hard to clean.

These beautiful, super clean and unblemished hides were covering cows for years.  Have you seen cows?  Their skin and hair are made to stand up to the elements.  You’re little wet feet or spilled cereal or whatever are nothing compared to the mess they have seen!  We have had the larger, darker hide in this picture for six years.  It has spent most of that time being in front of the door that my dogs use to go outside.  They have tracked snow in on it, thrown up on it, rolled their mud covered backs on it..  and it looks exactly the same as it did the day I brought it home.

photo (3)

The two hides that I used are different sizes (one average sized hide (6 x 7′) and one smaller one (6 x 6′)) and colors.  For a more traditional look you could use two matching hides.  The total dimensions of the two together, overlapped in this way is about 7 x 11′.

We always have a good selection of cow hides at the shop.  If your are local, swing by and check them out.  If you don’t live in our fair city, you can shoot me an email at niki@shoptigertree and I can send you photos of the available inventory!

527131_425711134159280_1606780379_n
Niki Quinn | Owner
Tigertree’s left brain.  Most days you can find me organizing everything from the staff refrigerator to the inventory on our website.

