Nutella + Shortbread Cookie Recipe

tt_nutellarings

These little rings of heaven are surprisingly simple to make. The morning before our floral arranging class I forced myself out of bed early with the lure of this recipe. I made alterations to simplify and they were baked and boxed up within an hour and a half.

tt_nutellarings1

tt_nutellarings2

tt_nutellarings3

tt_nutellarings4

tt_nutellarings5


Ingredients

3/4 cup powdered sugar
1 cup butter (cold and sliced into 1″ cubes)
1 tsp vanilla
2 1/2 cups flour
1/2 cup Nutella approximately

Directions
Preheat oven to 350°. In a food processor combine sugar, butter, vanilla, and flour. Pulse for 10 seconds about 12 times. Around the 8th time you will want to take the lid off and stir things around a bit. You’ll know that it’s done when you have crumbs about the size of grapes.

On a floured surface smash the crumbs together into a ball. I do some light kneading until I get a smooth-ish sphere. Roll out with a floured rolling pin until the dough is about 1/4″ thick. Cut entire surface with the large cookie cutter, count circles, and cut the middle out of half. Getting them off of the surface can be tricky and needs to be done with some amount of care. I used a dough scraper to carefully lift them from the surface.

Bake on an ungreased cookie sheet for 12 minutes and cool on a rack (again you will need to gingerly move them). Once they are cool, which will only take a few minutes, spread Nutella onto the larger cookie keeping most of it in the middle so it doesn’t get smashed out. Then place the ring on top and voila! So cute, right?

ttavatar
Michelle Parsons | Store Manager
I’m from a small town in Ohio but I’ve always been a city girl at heart. I love being able to ride my bike to work and get a scoop of ice cream after 10pm.

